State Officials and Power Companies Share Efforts to Reduce Carbon Pollution with Administration Officials

June 27, 2013

State officials, electric power company executives, and federal officials from the Obama Administration gathered on June 27 to discuss efforts already underway to reduce carbon pollution from power plants.

The importance of state and private-sector action on climate change was underscored in the President’s Tuesday announcement when he said he wants new federal rules reducing carbon pollution to “…provide flexibility to different states with different needs and build on the leadership that many states and cities and companies have already shown.”

State and company participants spent the day sharing success stories and conversing with administration officials about opportunities they have found to reduce carbon emissions in the electric sector.  Success stories shared in the meeting will be compiled in a proceedings to be released later this summer. 

The meeting was hosted by the Georgetown Climate Center and took place at Georgetown University Law Center.  A copy of the agenda is available here.  A report capturing some of the success stories shared during the meeting is available here

A second meeting of the group was convened in October 2013 to continue the dialogue. Click here to read more.


Participants Included:


  • California: Brian Turner, Assistant Executive Officer, Air Resources Board
  • Colorado: Martha Rudolph, Director of Environmental Programs, Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
  • Illinois: Doug Scott, Chair, Illinois Commerce Commission
  • Kentucky: John Davies, Deputy Commissioner, Department for Energy Development and Independence
  • Maryland: Abigail Hopper, Energy Advisor to Gov. O’Malley; Director, Maryland Energy Administration
  • Minnesota: Ellen Anderson, Senior Energy & Environment Advisor to Gov. Dayton
  • New York: Jared Snyder, Assistant Commissioner for Air Resources, Climate Change and Energy, Department of Environmental Conservation

Power Companies

  • Austin Energy: Matthew Russell, Environmental Services Manager
  • Calpine: Yvonne McIntyre, Vice President, Federal Government Affairs
  • CPS Energy (San Antonio, TX): Kim Stoker, Director of Environmental Planning, Compliance & Sustainability
  • Dominion: Ann Loomis, Senior Advisor for Federal & Environmental Policy
  • Entergy: Jeff Williams, Director, Climate Consulting
  • Exelon: Amy Trojecki, Director of Environmental and Fuels Policy
  • National Grid: Robert Teetz, Vice President, Environmental Services
  • NextEra Energy: Ray Butts, Director, Strategic & Regulatory Planning
  • PG&E: Melissa Lavinson, Vice President, Federal Affairs
  • Portland General Electric: Dave Robertson, Vice President of Public Policy
  • PSEG: Kristen Ludecke, Vice President, Federal Affairs
  • Seattle City Light: Lynn Best, Director, Environmental Affairs
  • Sempra Energy: Scott Crider, Vice President, Federal Government Affairs
  • Xcel Energy: Frank Prager, Vice President, Environmental and Public Policy

Federal Representatives

White House

  • Dan Utech, Deputy Director for Energy and Climate Change, White House Domestic Policy Council

White House Council on Environmental Quality

  • Gary Guzy, Deputy Director and General Counsel, White House Council on Environmental Quality
  • Drew McConville, Senior Advisor to the Chair, White House Council on Environmental Quality

Environmental Protection Agency

  • Michael Goo, Associate Administrator for the Office of Policy, EPA
  • Joseph Goffman, Senior Counsel to the Assistant Administrator for Air and Radiation, EPA
  • Alex Barron, Senior Advisor, Office of Policy, EPA
  • Lisa Conner, Manager, Policy and Strategies Group, EPA
  • Julie Rosenberg, Branch Chief, State and Local Climate & Energy Program, EPA

Department of Energy

  • Jonathan Pershing, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Climate Change Policy and Technology, DOE
  • Holmes Hummel, Senior Policy Advisor, Office of Policy & International Affairs, DOE
  • John Larsen, Senior Policy Analyst, Office of Domestic Climate Change Policy and Technology, DOE
  • Erin Boyd, AAAS Science and Technology Policy Fellow, DOE


Georgetown Climate Center

  • Vicki Arroyo, Executive Director
  • Kate Zyla, Director of Research and Policy
  • Gabe Pacyniak, Institute Associate



(All photos by Rafael Suanes)

Joseph Goffman, Senior Counsel to the Assistant Administrator for Air and Radiation at the EPA, addresses state and power company questions about upcoming EPA efforts to reduce greenhouse gas emissions from power plants. (From left to right: Brian Turner, State of California; Matthew Russell, Austin Energy; Kate Zyla, Georgetown Climate Center; Joseph Goffman, EPA; Kim Stoker, CPS Energy; John Davies, Commonwealth of Kentucky; Dave Robertson, Portland General Electric)


(From left to right: Jared Snyder, State of New York; Ann Loomis, Dominion; Amy Trojecki, Exelon)



(Dan Utech, White House Domestic Policy Council; Vicki Arroyo, Georgetown Climate Center)